Skip to content

Liz Hanlon Tells All

March 20, 2013

Hey!  Liz Hanlon here, star protagonist of Harmonic Deception and High Notes Are Murder by that musician person what’s her name…oh yeah, Barbara Reed.  Enough about her; everyone knows who I am.  Well, they’re supposed to know, but last night at my favorite watering hole I told one of the usual suspects they could get my music absolutely FREE here on this blog and they knew nothing about it!  Obviously, author Reed’s promo techniques leave something to be desired.  So I’m here to tell you–there’s free stuff below, PLUS you get to rant freely, giving your opinions and get free stuff for doing it.  You can’t beat that!  Here’s how you do it:

1.  Send your email to Barbara@BarbaraReed.org and get a song emailed back to you.  That’s it.  Contact me and I’ll email you back one free song.  If you have a favorite, let me know, otherwise let me surprise you.  Many are originals written about the characters in the books (that would be me, Liz Hanlon . . . but you know that.)  I let the world think they’re sung by Barbara Reed but everyone knows I performed them in the books which makes me the real singer.  Send an email here:  Barbara@BarbaraReed.org

2.  Get a FREE CD–that’s the whole concert on the High Notes Are Murder Soundtrack–with the purchase of either book.  Print books are at:  BarbaraReed.org, or Amazon.com.  Ebooks are on Amazon.com or Smashwords.com.  Send me a link from your purchase and you’ll find the CD in your mailbox.

OK . . . now  I’d like to hear from you with real ideas about LIVE music.  The kind I make with my band all the time.  So . . . tell me where you go to hear live music, and why.  There are lots of great local bands out there and you can help promote them just by telling the world about them right here.  What’s their name?  How many people are in the band?  Do they write their own music or do covers?  What’s your favorite style?  Favorite singer?

Want it a little juicer?  Me too.  So if you feel like throwing in a few tales about the conversations at the bar, that’s good too.  For example, last night a fight broke out among two of my usual suspects mentioned above.  Not a real fist fight, but damn close!  It all started with a pizza order.  I’ll tell you about it in my next blog, but suffice it to say it was hard to go back into the music groove for my last set with the weird vibe in the room.  Which proves what I’ve always said:  once a musician gets past the mechanics of how to play an instrument, playing music is an emotional experience, not necessarily a physical one.  What’s going on in the mind and particularly the heart greatly affects our performances.  Sometimes we have to work to keep up a good front, continue the show with a smile and all,  but being that emotional being is something to be proud of, not ashamed of.  We’re humans, not automatons.  Music, and especially lyrics, are all an expression of our emotions.  Just like a movie or a book.  Never apologize for those strong emotions, just figure out how to present them correctly.  If you decide to read either of my novels, you’ll see how my emotional displays sometimes get me into trouble!  But that’s OK.  I’m used to being an internal person in an external world which, of course, also gets me into trouble.

Okay, your turn . . .

HD Cover Front

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2013 8:07 pm

    Hi Barbara, I’m the first to leave a comment! Great idea for a blog, having your character write the posts. Liz should meet with my series character, former teen idol Sandy Fairfax. They could record a duet together! I love listening to music, particularly country gospel and oldies pop and rock.

    • June 15, 2013 4:43 pm

      Hi Sally, Nice to have you here. ANd yes, you’re the first. I was delighted to see your response because you never know if anyone actually sees these blogs! And your Sandy Fairfax series looks great! We might find ways someday for the two protagonists to meet up, maybe even solve a crime. A former teen idol is a terrific idea–lots of areas for things to crop up from the past so you’ve got a treasure chest full of possibilities there. I patterned Liz Hanlon in the music biz since that’s where I’ve been all my life, and at first I thought “who cares about the music biz?” Turns out I was wrong. However, musicians are always shown as self-absorbed, childish, certainly no one you’d want to marry your kid, etc…but today’s musicians are business people–they have to be! So between all the nutty things that have happened to me over the years and the changes in the modern biz, I keep finding things to write about too. Who knows where it will all end up? As for music, your favorite is country gospel…I wish I had one recorded that fits that bill exactly but I don’t. I do some live that would fit, but they aren’t recorded, so I’m going to take my best shot and send one to your email address. If you spot one on my site in the meantime that you’d like, send the title and I’ll send. Hope you enjoy, and please spread the word about the blog and music…and of course join the comments. In fact, how about a few words about Sandy Fairfax?

      • June 17, 2013 2:14 pm

        Regarding musicians and music, when someone asked Micky Dolenz regarding his advice for young teen idols he said, “get a good lawyer.” Ha! Hope Sandy and Liz can connect, but he was a ’70s teen idol and my books are set in the 1990s. Liz might need a time machine to meet him! You can learn about Sandy at my blog http://sandyfairfaxauthor.com. I’ll have a new post up next week about the aging teen idols out on tour this summer.

  2. February 2, 2014 6:47 pm

    Reblogged this on Liz Hanlon.

Leave a Reply

